PDA

View Full Version : Are you a health worker?

Amanda3266
28-05-07, 09:49
...and if so does it make your health anxiety worse?

I am a nurse and health visitor. Over the years I have done all the things NOT recommended like searching through medical books and Googling symptoms (I no longer do either as I end up scaring the feck out of myself).
:wacko:

One of the worst things is that I have a tendancy to look at rare (and I do mean rare) incidences of illness and then develop the same symptoms!

Over the years I have had:

Eczema on my breast near the nipple - a medical book very helpfully :huh: told me that this could be a sign of a certain kind of breast cancer. The fact that I suffer from dry skin and am prone to skin complaints completely passed me by. I drove myself (and my GP) loopy fopr weeks until it went. (and it DID go - that was 6 years ago and it never came back).

I developed what in my mind was a rare form of heart failure after caring for a young woman with the same. Constantly checked my pulse and worried that it was so high. Again the fact that the pulse rate increases under stress passed me by. Again I am alive and well several years later.

Cancer is a specific fear and any little problem can convince me that I have the dreaded C word. This is worse when I am stressed and any little symptom can tip me over the edge(where I am at the moment). The train of thought going through my head over a tiny blister is irrational and bizarre (in my head it's a weeping wound due to an underlying tumour:ohmy: :weep: ) - but in reality my feelings are not about the blister - they are about other issues.

I have cared for people with cancer - many who were cured by treatment - some who were not BUT I can count on one hand the number of people I knew personally who had cancer and died (that's over the period of my 41 years).
They say 1 in 3 people will get some form of cancer (so that means two thirds of us won't):) and many of those who do are cured.:)