PDA

View Full Version : Somebody please reassure me

Greg316
08-08-17, 21:40
Hello Everyone,

I'm back again with another whirlwind of anxiety. I had been doing great for many years but my father's pancreatic cancer diagnosis really has knocked me for a loop.

I am petrified to go to the doctor to hear the words that I had to hear for my father, but I'm constantly beset by the idea that I've got cancer now too.

My most recent illness which I think is in my head involves a pain under my very lowest rib in my back and works its way around to the ribs in front (still the lowest ones). This is mostly on my right side, but also happens on my left depending on how I'm sitting.

It's more of a nagging muscular pain that can be palpated. It really feels just like a trigger point; or a sore bruised area, but I don't think there are any trigger points in that area.

Naturally I'm thinking Liver/Pancreatic cancer despite only being 33; but I just can't get it out of my head. I don't want to go to the doctor because of the anxiety; and because every time I go to the doctor they just tell me to lose weight (I am fat).

I've looked up the symptoms, and my skin's not yellow; my eyes aren't yellow; I'm not nauseous; nor do I have fever or fatigue; just the pain.

I think it's probably due to the way I slouch over to the right at work using the mouse; and my stomach fat bunching up; but the anxiety is convincing me that I've got cancer and I'm going to have to tell my mom who is already dealing with my dad's diagnosis.

Thank you so much everyone for your time.

Cece6
08-08-17, 21:56
Hi Greg,

Firstly I'm sorry your guys are going through this with your Dad. We, as a family, have been through Pancreatic Cancer too and it's upsetting. One great thing is the leaps and bounds they have made in medicine with regards to Pancreatic Cancer in recent years. Sending all loving vibes to you.