PDA

View Full Version : Magical thinking...I guess

Kitmarie
11-08-17, 17:22
Hi...I'm new to this but hoping someone will be able to relate or understand. I suffer from anxiety and OCD. I have dealt with "magical thinking" for quite some time. However, recently it has become so much worse. I have the tendency to set things like "if this happens, then that will happen". So for instance, if I think that the next person who will call me is my husband and I'm right, then something terrible will happen to my child. So if by chance he is the next person to call me...I go into a complete panic mode worrying something will happen to my son. I absolutely hate coincidences and somehow relate everything in a negative way. For some reason, the past week has been terrible and I can't shake these overwhelming feelings of I am controlling events and that these "signs" are letting me know something bad is going to happen. I just want to feel okay.

Charlie1108
11-08-17, 22:30
I have phases of this too!

MyNameIsTerry
12-08-17, 21:31
I was the opposite, if I guess the next thing as being X or the next person calling was X then it would mean I'm safe. If not, something bad will happen, often I wouldn't know what this even was.

On my walks I would combine this with my other themes around the route, licence plates on cars, names on labels, numbers on lamp posts, etc. I was doing with the street lights which were coming on & off "if the next one goes off, X bad won't happen".

I think this is something many go through in childhood too. It's like a superpower belief gone wrong!