PDA

View Full Version : Driving fear

andy555
13-08-17, 15:12
I have been driving for 29 years & have a constant fear of driving somewhere new to the extent that it makes me feel sick and builds my anxiety levels up to 10. I am travelling to west midlands safari park from Nottingham tomorrow which is a distance of 85 miles on the M1, M42 and M5, busy roads and already I'm panicking about getting lost, breaking down, having an accident etc etc etc I really can't explain this and feel so damn stupid and disgusted with myself, it's always happened and when I reach my destination I wonder what all the fuss is about. I drive for a leaving within the 20 mile borough where i live and have no problems with that but when I go out of my comfort zone i feel awful again, I've got to go tomorrow as i can't let the family down but I know I will be probably dreaming about it tonight & wake to this horrible anxious feeling in the morning, could do with help & advice on this please & how to overcome these fears, realise there is probably no quick fix but need help from somewhere, is there someone on here going through the same emotions & if so how do you cope with it ? Many thanks....... Andy.

Kate21
13-08-17, 19:13
I've only been driving a year and the first 6 months was basically me crying at the wheel on the motorway, on roundabouts at service stations... everywhere! I hated driving especially in the city.
plan the route on the map, take satnav, plan your stops. I still get that gut wrenching feeling on a new drive so I tend to just set off early and take my time. You will be fine, think of your car as your safe bubble.

andy555
13-08-17, 19:29