PDA

View Full Version : Spot on my back/shoulder - feeling engulfed in doom & despair

Goldberry
23-08-17, 17:21
Hello all ~ I joined this forum for moral support as I await my dermatologist appointment tomorrow.

I have had a spot on my back for over a year now. It appeared suddenly, I mean honestly - it was just there one day.

For whatever reason, I never did anything about it. Until - two days ago, I was researching an article for a client (I am a health writer) and I saw photos of nodular melanoma and basal cell carcinoma. Both of these look identical to what I have on my back.

So - I am legitimately freaking out. Even my husband is freaking out. I know it's pointless to do this to myself, and it's only making things worse, but I can't seem to win over my thoughts with reason and rationale.

I believe I've made myself sick over the past two days worrying about this - now I have flu sensations, and a feeling of fullness in the throat, so of course I'm thinking: it's cancer taking over my lymph nodes and spreading!

Ugh. Any words of wisdom/comfort/advice/tips for relaxing/etc. would be wonderful. I just can't seem to stop the doom and despair thoughts.

Midnight-mouse
23-08-17, 18:14
Right now the only thing there is, is to wait for the appointment and see what comes of it. Unless you get told any different it's still the same old spot that's been there for year.

I know it's almost impossible right now but try and take your mind off things. You can drop me a message or anything if you would like to chat

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

CHELLEB1017
23-08-17, 18:14