PDA

View Full Version : Is this OCD?

Scrubmuncher
07-06-07, 19:25
I constantly think people around me want to physically hurt me. I'm the most unviolent person on the planet, but I find I'm constantly watching my back and avoiding groups of people or busy situations. Anyone any idea whats going on, no one would surely want to beat me up, but I realy do think the worst of any situation.
I just want the ground to swallow me up and I'm not bothered about getting back. Not being here would feel less stressful. Do I really want to go through life dealing with this problem? NO!

Insomniac
07-06-07, 20:45
Hi there.

I'm no expert on this but I don't think it is OCD. Lots of us here with panic & anxiety often feel like this though, so you are among friends. :) I know that doesnt always help but at least you will find useful information and support here. There's a bit on OCD too. Sorry I can't help more. Hope you feel better soon.

Tricky Tree
09-06-07, 18:57
No - sounds like anxiety to me.

If you convince yourself its something bad with a label like OCD, you'll become convinced theres something seriously wrong with you. I bet there isnt.

Im not trying to say your fears arent valid or real. I believe they are very real to you.

Have you talked to your GP?

Eclipse
10-06-07, 03:38
Hi,
I can't comment or advise on the feelings you're experiencing of people wanting to 'physically hurt you' but the watching your back, avoiding groups of people or busy situations and thinking the worst of any situation rings a bell with me re my social anxiety.

That probably isn't much help to you but, as Insomniac says, I don't think it's OCD related.

I hope someone more 'in the know' can help but in the meantime, don't think that you're on your own cos, on this site, there are many who can relate to your worries and provide great support.

Best Wishes

Magz
xx

kate
10-06-07, 07:14