PDA

View Full Version : Trying to head off a major meltdown - advice again please!

.Poppy.
13-09-17, 01:13
I created a thread yesterday that outlines my current worries in terms of my rental situation. That is still far from being resolved; we're still working on contacting the landlord and figuring out our way forward.

About a week ago, I applied for a job with a local dog walking/dog sitting company. I have some experience with this just from family friends, and I thought it would be a fun way to make some extra money. I work full-time and I also am taking a grad class on top of this; I definitely make enough money to support myself at my full-time job, but I'm really wanting to pay off my student loans ASAP, which is why I decided to find additional revenue.

I've just been scheduled for my first two weeks and am already regretting it. There are two major things that are causing me stress:

1) It's a flex schedule, not a set schedule. So you don't know what your schedule is more than a week out, and it's not super easy to request time off either.

2) I'm afraid I've taken on too much time-wise. Between my full-time job and my class work, I also have my own dog that will be living with me AND another dog that is currently living with my parents. There are no days off with this new job - I'm scheduled every single day, even weekends, which of course makes scheduling tight and would make it nearly impossible to see my other dog. That doesn't sound like a big deal, but it is.

Part of me is just really hating myself right now because obviously the responsible thing to do is work as many hours as possible so that I can gather as much money as possible. I've also just been hired; it would be really crappy for them to have to find someone else and they seemed pretty happy to have me.