PDA

View Full Version : Completely irrational- HA out of hand and needing some help

Caseyg89
29-09-17, 15:55
Hi everyone,

For the first time in my life, I began struggling with severe health anxiety over the past 8 months. I have OCD that has always been managed but this health anxiety has been completely out of control. Since starting in the cycle in January I've convinced myself of 14 different conditions. Always cancer. I'm 28 years old and pregnant with my first child. I have sought out multiple tests (two endoscopes because of a fear of esophageal cancer), tons of ultrasounds etc. I was doing better until my doctor took routine blood in my second trimester and it showed that my iron and hemoglobin had dropped. I absolutely spiraled and convinced myself it was from colon cancer. My doctors have all told me a drop in hemoglobin is completely normal (And as of the last blood result I'm not technically anemic) as your blood increases by 50 percent. I don't believe them and became obsessed with the possibility of colon cancer. Out of sheer desperation, the doctors did a flexible sigmoidoscopy (unsedated) And were able to get to the end of my colon. Since it was unprepped and I had some bleeding after the scope, I became convinced that they missed a mass but hit it and then it bled. Bleeding stopp3d after a few hours of the scope. My HA continued to spiral with colon cancer fear due to the bleeding after the scope, my IBS and rigjt sided pain. I was convinced I had right sided colon cancer as it causes anemia, pain and often goes undetected and grows large. Needless to say, I ended up with an additional two sigmoidoscopies, another full colonoscopy (once again all unseated), two ultrasounds (no inflammation found) and 3 FOBT negative. I also started becoming very hot in the third trimester and have been convinced it's due to a fever. My temp has been taken at the hospital numerous times and always under 37 degrees but I believe it's a fever. I can't believe that I