PDA

View Full Version : Health anxiety due to starting birth control

anxious_thoughts
24-10-17, 04:48
Hello,

I've had a couple problems with my period earlier this year so my gyno recommended I go on birth control to help regulate my periods, and want some me to keep taking them for 3 months. She gave me Alesse 28. I'm 24 and this is my first time ever taking birth control. I started my first pill last night, I took it at 11:45pm.

What I'm most concerned about are the side effects. I actually didn't feel any last night other than my heart beat feeling like it was going a bit faster than usual. But that could have been because I was anxious about it. Anyways, I'm terrified of negative side effects happening especially within the first three months. I totally scared myself after reading some reviews about the pill online. Just so scared about blood clots, depression, feeling dizzy, or things related to my blood pressure. I'm overweight so this also worries me.

Can someone tell me about their experience on the pill? Especially when you already suffer from anxiety.

AntsyVee
24-10-17, 05:39
I’ve had a great experience on the pill. It actually helps with my anxiety just as much as my antidepressant. I’ve been on it for 10+ years, and I’m overweight, with no adverse experiences.

Annaboodle
24-10-17, 07:13
I had a really positive experience with the pill. I went on it in my teens due to incredibly heavy and irregular periods and it regulated them and made them completely manageable. No problems with side effects. Remember with any meds that they have to list all possible side effects (MyNameIsTerry posted a really good explanation about this, but I can't find it. It was about pharma companies legally covering themselves).