PDA

View Full Version : Health Anxiety or something more serious? I don't even know!

JayWright91
01-11-17, 13:58
Hey People

I'm new to this forum and tbf I am new to the whole health anxiety thing in general. However, I have suffered from anxiety in general for a few years, most recently social anxiety.

However, these 'feelings/symptoms' have plagued me for the past 4 weeks and I have been guilty of the old 'Dr. Google' and basically self diagnosed myself with two medical conditions in these 4 weeks!

So, lets start at the beginning shall we? - I am a 26 Year Old Father to 2, one just turning 6 and another yet to turn 1. I have a long term partner who I am engaged to and very much looking forward to getting married to. I've had quite a bad diet for a while and seen my weight shoot up to 14st 6lb putting me in the 'overweight' category.

Roughly 4 weeks ago, I felt a sharp twinge in the left side of my chest.. I ignored it at first and just let it be. However, it kept happening and I also suffered from a 'burning' sensation in my shoulders and higher back. I jumped straight onto google and typed in my symptoms (silly I know) and was met with hundreds of posts regarding heart attacks. So that was that, I was having a Heart Attack I thought to myself. I went to my GP who did basic Obs like Pulse, BP, Oxygen Levels and listened to my heart/chest with stethoscope and all was okay, except a high BP (Anxiety and/or diet could cause this?) - So off, I went feeling slightly at ease. Until, that was the next day when I felt the symptoms again and had a 'panic attack' I rang 111 who told me to go to A&E. So off I went, waited three hours and had basic obs and an ECG - all of which showed up fine.

This put my mind at great ease and the symptoms stopped for the heart attack I thought I was having for 2/3 Weeks.