PDA

View Full Version : New Relationship - Scared anxiety will ruin it!!

gentlesoul
27-11-17, 13:07
Hello!

My name is Laura, I'm 38. Started new relationship in past few months and suddenly gotten anxiety (panic attacks, breathing problems, loss of appetite etc).

This is my first time with anxiety - previously had depression and managed it with CBT and self-compassion. Am scared!

I basically can't work out if these feelings/reactions are because

a) he's just not right for me

b) it's just anxiety triggered by a new relationship/impending commitment/my circumstances..

I've been single for 8 years! I have gotten SO used to it - am super independent, travel with work (journalist). Been very hurt before, have stupidly high standards, usually go for emotionally unavailable men.

This guy is lovely - and he started as a friend. We've gone from a few dates to intense weekends together (as I live in Essex and he's in Kent) as it's easier to manage doing weekends every few weeks than dates. So suddenly I'M spending 40 hours with him, no space to breathe or be upset, in middle of nowhere (he lives out of town).

I went from being all excited and having fun to anxiety on and off when with him. I wake up next to him and can't breathe, I pick at everything he does (convincing myself he's not right for me because he doesn't meet my perfect partner checklist). My mind won't shut up. I want to run away.

I am thinking of ending it as don't want to feel this bad anymore. Though my family/friends have piled on pressure saying I am ruining something good. Because of my age EVERYONE keeps telling me I need to hurry up and settle down!

Also he's vulnerable - he has depression and the more I pull away the more he gets a bit needy and worried.

Have I just realised he's not quite right for me (not always sure we have much in common or have flowing chat - he's younger than me and sometimes seems immature) OR is my mind trying to ruin it?