PDA

View Full Version : What I've learned in counselling/update

Caseyg89
30-11-17, 20:41
Hi everyone!

It has been a while since I posted on here. I ended up being induced and had my baby at 41 weeks. He was 8 pounds 7 ounces and unfortunately caused me some significant tearing. For the first few days, I had relatively low health anxiety. This past week it came back. I have had HA since January, feared over 14 different types of cancers and have had 2 endoscopes, 2 colonoscopies, an abdominal MRI, chest x-ray, chest CT scan, 8 ultrasounds, 3 occult blood tests and many other blood tests. I have OCD which is severe. Any of the duplicate tests I went through was because I didn't believe the first. I have been fearing stomach cancer for about 10 months and had two endoscopes. As always, the reassurance is so temporary. I finally saw the GI thus week for the results of the biopsies and she told me that all came back great. She told me she would have seen stomach cancer, but I can't seem to believe it. I am still having some symptoms which can be seen in stomach cancer, so I fear that it was missed by 2 endoscopes. I have had two sessions with a psychologist for severe OC D and I wanted to share some of the key points with you.

1. Reassurance seeking feeds the beast. As much as we love it, it does not do any help. At what point has seeking repeated reassurance gotten anyone over health anxiety? I don't reassurance seek from family, friends etc, but I am addicted to reassurance seeking through medical tests. The high I feel when I am told it is not my biggest fear makes it a habit and addictive. When we seek reassurance, we negatively reinforce the behaviour so that we need more of it. For me, reassurance from my GP was originally enough, then I was okay with non-invasive tests, then I needed thorough tests. Not one of these attempts to reassurance seek has gotten me over my HA.