PDA

View Full Version : chest xray breathing problems

tamo
11-12-17, 12:09
I am a life long asthmatic age 61 and x smoker of 7 years . I have had what the GP says is a chest infection but after 4 weeks and 2 courses of carythromycin I am still bringing up clear phlem although I dont have a constant cough I am quite breathless upon exertion . I had an x ray this morning 11 dec 17 . I have a general wheeze sometimes and feel weak . I am worried about cancer.
Would there be other symptoms involved ? I am very anxious and frightened about results .

bin tenn
11-12-17, 13:21
I'm sure that is scary, especially given the age and smoking history, as well as the symptoms. Sorry you're worried. As with any illness, the symptoms that one may experience will vary. Some people have subtle symptoms, if any, while others may have more extreme symptoms from the beginning. With that being said, I feel like asthma is probably a likely culprit in your case. Note, I'm not a doctor or other trained medical professional and I am in no way guaranteeing anything. Just based on my very limited understanding.

You're doing the right thing by being proactive and having the X-ray done. Have you talked to your doc about this fear, and the possibility of malignancy? They are obviously the best person to talk to about it.

I understand you're worried, but given the fact that you're asthmatic, especially, try not to worry too much. You're in good hands. Good luck, and I certainly hope everything turns out well.

tamo
11-12-17, 14:58
Thank you , I hate this health anxiety . Its taking me all my will power to NOT GOOGLE .
:shrug:

O_O
11-12-17, 18:52
I would say it's good that there's no blood in your phlegm and that you don't have a constant cough. Those are more classic lung cancer symptoms. To me, it does sound more like an asthma / chest infection thing. And clearly your doctor suspects that too.