PDA

View Full Version : Bump on lip suddenly appeared??

patroclus
29-12-17, 05:10
So a bump directly on my top lip (not near the edge or anything so it’s not a pimple) just appeared out of nowhere & I’m worried it may be an allergic reaction of some kind? I just started taking Bactrim & Doxycycline yesterday for a skin infection I have and I’ve taken Bactrim before and had no problems, but I’m worried about a possible reaction to the Doxycycline. If this was allergic reaction, would there just be one bump like this with no other symptoms ir would there be a lot more? Should I be worrying about this or is it something common that I’m not aware of...Please help because my hypochondria has me really worrying about this :(
Thank you

Careful1
29-12-17, 05:26
I am honestly not sure, I have never heard of an allergic reaction present with just one bump on the lip if it's from something that was ingested but then again I am not an expert in allergic reactions. Normally one would get itchy hives, scratchy throat etc... Is there anyway you can call a pharmacy and ask to speak with a pharmcist and ask them? I don't know if you have a Walgreens in your city but they normally have at least one 24 hour one in the area...

Could something have bit you possibly?

patroclus
29-12-17, 05:34
Yeah..I mean I have a dry/scratchy throat but it’s very mild and has been there for days before I even started taking the meds due to a cold going around in my family. I don’t remember biting it in any way? All I can think of trauma-wise is that I had just brushed my teeth about 10 minutes before it appeared but I don’t think any injury happened during :/
There is a pharmacy I can call that’s open and I’m thinking of doing so but my anxiety is so bad and somehow calling a doctor seems to make it worse so I thought I’d ask here first to determine if it was truly something serious or not.
Thank you for your reply, by the way!

Careful1
29-12-17, 05:43