PDA

View Full Version : Anxiety and University

KatherineLion
14-01-18, 19:02
Hello,

After a few hard months, I finally got the courage to visit the GP and got diagnosed with anxiety and depression which I suspected for sometime. However, I am finding that I am really struggling with university, the work and now even my friends.

While my friends have been understanding, I also feel quite isolated from them now due to this and also due to the fact that we have had a few small arguments. I have already taken one week off university to stay at home and am considering taking another week off as I don't feel capable of going back. I feel like they are constantly judging me and that they no longer want to be my friend, which is only increasing the anxious feelings I am experiencing.

Every time I think about going back to uni, I feel like I cannot breathe and I just burst into tears. I am in my final year and my last few months, I don't feel like quitting is an option.

I feel like everything is just suffocating me and I don't know how to cope anymore. I have attended talking therapy and have just started Sertraline.

axolotl
14-01-18, 19:15
Hi Katherine, sorry to hear all this. Have you explored any support at University? Unis are usually very good at providing support for these kind of issues, either through the Students' Union, pastoral support, or Disability Services if you have a diagnosed anxiety disorder.

KatherineLion
14-01-18, 19:41
Hi Katherine, sorry to hear all this. Have you explored any support at University? Unis are usually very good at providing support for these kind of issues, either through the Students' Union, pastoral support, or Disability Services if you have a diagnosed anxiety disorder.

Hello, I am waiting for the student counselling service to email me back, thank you.

Dying_Swan
14-01-18, 20:17
Hi Katherine

Sorry to hear you are having a tough time. My anxiety issues started at university too, a long time ago now.