PDA

View Full Version : Tooth ache and abscess

lelespears
21-01-18, 18:10
Pretty sure I have an abscess, top left the pain is unreal and the swelling is in the roof of my mouth in a few parts. Worried it’s mouth cancer or something and if it is an abscess it will spread to my brain. Can’t see my dentist till tomo. Swallowing is horrendous

axolotl
21-01-18, 18:24
Try and calm down, if it's an abscess it'll be painful but it'll get sorted by the dentist. Catastrophising it into cancer is hugely irrational.

lelespears
22-01-18, 17:43
Just been to dentist where they removed my tooth, took an X-ray and could see the infection. Said the throbbing and swelling in my palatte will do down as the tooth is out now my body will fight the infection.. the anesthetic hasn’t even worn off and the roof of my mouth is throbbing! I asked for anti bios and he said my body will fight it. I’m so scared this will spread to my brain or sepsis

Carys
22-01-18, 18:01
I am quite suprised they didn't offer an antibiotic course to be honest, was this your usual trusted dentist? The usual practice is to give anti-biotics before tooth removal in order to get the infection sorted first. I didn't notice which country you were in, I'm currently presuming UK, I would see how it is tomorrow and go to your GP and request an antibiotic course for a dental abscess. Yes, of course your body does fight infection and in most healthy individuals this is what happens, but you are clearly in a lot of pain and I don't think its fair to leave it without treatment and wait for things to take their course and nature to heal it.

OK you are in the UK I just checked. Did they say it was an abcess or just infection? (the abcess is a more extreme form)

axolotl
22-01-18, 18:23