PDA

View Full Version : Health anxiety newbie here

Lilacwine
02-02-18, 11:50
Hi, I've decided to finally join rather than just lurking, as i'm really really struggling right now, (but I've viewed these boards on and off for a couple of years & found it really helpful)

I've had anxiety on and off most of my adult life, in the last 10 years it's been health anxiety, but usually months (or a year or so) go by between a health crises, but this is the first time I have lurched from one health scare to another with no gap. My latest fear is Pagets breast cancer (Dr has referred me to the breast clinic, 2 weeks)
Every day is becoming harder and harder, trying not to google (& often failing!) I feel like I am clinging by my fingernails not to slip into a black hole of panic & horror. It's almost impossible to function when I get this bad, I'm now not eating much, or sleeping much. I've no one to talk to, I'm divorced & very few people understand what it's like anyway.

I've decided to hang out here every time I'm tempted to google, it's reassuring being with people who know exactly how it feels, and I'm learning lots too. I just hope I get through this latest scare ok, as I think I will have a breakdown or something If I do actually have something wrong this time!

Sorry to ramble on x

venusbluejeans
02-02-18, 11:55
Hiya Lilacwine and welcome to NMP :welcome:

Why not take a look at our articles on our home page, they contain a wealth of information and are a great starting place for your time on the forum.

I hope you find the as site helpful and informative as I have and that you get the help and support you need here and hope that you meet a few friends along the way :yesyes:

Claire.Cox1984
02-02-18, 22:19
I'm also new, registered today.