PDA

View Full Version : Terrified on Brain Tumour

WorriedTQ
02-02-18, 16:41
Hi
This will be my first time using a forum to discuss my anxiety. I have suffered with anxiety in the past but am new to health anxiety. Sadly though I feel it is taking over my life. It all started in December last year when I developed a headache which wouldn't shift ... no other symptoms. This quickly raised my panic levels and I ended up in A&E twice over Christmas with panic attack and headaches. The headaches have subsided thankfully after a number of visits to my GP but the anxiety has not. I have tried not to search symptoms but that is very difficult!! Gp thought I had anxiety so told me to work on relaxing. I am a professional with two kids so life is busy. However I have noticed over the last week I have been waking in the night with tingling hands. I have also had intermittant pains in my head ... not headache tnough. This is sending me into a spiral of panic. The tingling does go away when i move my arms but I think I can feel it during the day also now (albeit this may be anxiety playing with my mind). I think I just need some reassurance as I'm concerned about continuously going to Gp and it's very difficult to get an appointment here in the UK that isn't weeks ahead.

Sorry this post is so long!! Any advice gratefully received.

ferun
02-02-18, 17:06
I had the same fear for over a year and just recently got more or less over it. I'll just copy what I wrote in another thread a couple of hours ago:

"My doctor told me that if I had a brain tumor (which is rare to begin with) I would have come to him because of other way more severe symptoms long before I would have noticed a headache."

Another user replied that their doctor told them the same.

I won't mention the actual symptoms he told me about, in case you'd rather not know, but I can assure you that they aren't any of the ones you listed.

I hope this helps :)

WorriedTQ
02-02-18, 19:18