PDA

View Full Version : Banged my head in a fall today and now I’m panicking

Redsoles
07-02-18, 15:26
So I went ice skating this morning. I’m an experienced skater and there were only six people on the ice. I stupidly tried a move I’ve never done before and fell straight onto my back and hit the back of my head.

I wasn’t knocked out, there’s no bump or any real pain other than my neck and back feeling a bit sore. I don’t feel dizzy or sick. This happened six hours ago and I’m panicking thinking what if I develop a headache, what if I have a small bleed on the brain which will cause damage without me noticing.

If there was anything wrong I’d have more symptoms now wouldn’t I?

Elen
07-02-18, 15:30
Anyway my GP seemed annoyed with me and said that we should now start moving away from physical symptoms and start looking at psychological methods. I got upset at this point because I had just started to feel I was being taken seriously. He’s a new GP I changed to as I wasn’t getting anywhere with my old one who just used to tell me to take up Pilates.

Taken from one of your previous posts.

Have you looked at dealing with the anxiety issues?

Redsoles
07-02-18, 15:37
No. Not yet. I have no idea what to do. It’s not just anxiety for me. I suffer from post traumatic stress. I can’t afford counselling and the CBT I’ve had in the past doesn’t work for me.

---------- Post added at 15:37 ---------- Previous post was at 15:36 ----------

Ironically I was trying to distract myself by going skating. Rather than spend another day in bed feeling sorry for myself I forced myself to go. Skating is something I love to do and usually my happy place. I thought it would take my mind off things rather than give me something new to worry about.

Carys
07-02-18, 16:11