PDA

View Full Version : What's this on nail?

sam93
18-02-18, 18:52
https://m.imgur.com/X87TUMF

I just noticed this on my nail earlier today and worrying about the cause! Can someone tell me what it is?

Carys
18-02-18, 19:06
Are you talking about that absolutely miniscule black speck at the top right?

I'd put money on it being a splinter haemorrhage. Its going in the direction of the nail and is simply a tiny under nail bruise from a very minor injury. It will grow out in a matter of a couple of weeks. They are VERY common and most people have many of them in their lifetime.

skaaix
18-02-18, 19:44
I'm a nail tech, that picture is hard to see but your nail looks pretty damaged. It just looks like a splinter though. Nothing to be concerned about health wise.

Sent from my SM-G950W using Tapatalk

Catherine S
18-02-18, 20:39
Well, as you know we're not really meant to give a diagnosis about anything on the forum, we're not experts and are only going to be guessing as to what it could be, so we always say if it's something that really worries you it's best to ask somebody who would know for sure like a pharmacist or a nurse at your local surgery. They've seen it all before :)

Carys
18-02-18, 20:51
Yeah, but lets be honest, if you've had them lots of times yourself - and you've seen others have them then you are in fair place to make some judgement. Its not exactly a medical problem is it an incredibly slight finger nail mark. Its a tiny splinter sized thing under the nail and can only be 1mm long. I'm sure if there is any change then the OP will head off to the pharmacy or whatever, but I bet its not needed!

NO I'm not a medical person, so I give you my opinion only as a contributor on a HA forum.

skaaix
18-02-18, 21:01
I'm a nail tech, that picture is hard to see but your nail looks pretty damaged. It just looks like a splinter though. Nothing to be concerned about health wise.