PDA

View Full Version : Am I at serious risk for Lung cancer/COPD/ect?

Lurker
13-03-18, 06:16
So I've been seriously concerned about how at risk I seem to be thanks to growing up with massive amounts of secondhand smoke my entire life. Im 25 and it's still going on. They are not going to quit smoking in the house so thats out of the question. I share a room with my mom who has chain smoked my whole life too. I have to rely on them because severe social anxiety is making it nearly impossible to keep a job.

My parents don't think it's harmful and stuff but I cant pretend everything is fine when I see all the horror stories about passive smoking. I never smoked and try to keep myself healthy so this is really frustrating and scary. I pretty much feel like im going to die early from one of the thousand horrible, easily preventable diseases accosiated with passive smoking because I've been inhaling tons of smoke for 25 years. Oh, and we have an ancient dusty carpet too. Something I just found out contributes to COPD.

I love my mom but she just thinks Im having one of my health scares and is not willing to quit. She thinks smoking isn't unhealthy and comes from the time that everyone and their brother smoked.

I just want to know how to stay sane in this situation, because a lot of times Im just sittng there feeling like Im destined for a short misrable life because I pretty much breathe more smoke than fresh air. Is it illogical to feel like my health is being sabotaged?

WiseMonkey
13-03-18, 06:53
Hi,
Second hand smoke is no fun to be around. Your selfish family members aren't going to stop smoking, so it may be time for you to push your comfort barriers and make a shift yourself as you are 25 and an adult.

A good start would be to get some counselling for you social anxiety issues. Smoking is now an anti-societal, antisocial, activity so of course your mother would rather stay home where she can indulge her addiction.