PDA

View Full Version : POCD confusion - please help!

Boddle1803
25-03-18, 08:44
POCD is a recent development for me which stemmed from an intrusive thought during an intimate moment with my partner. The thought must have just been a result of a busy day (I work in education which made it all the more alarming). I talked to my family and they reassured me that it was nothing and that we all get weird thoughts at the wrong times. However, the thoughts started to escalate and become centred around one particular individual (makes me feel sick to write that) due to the nature of work I do and the original thought.

Again I talked to my family who told me I am being extremely silly but I could not settle. It is not in my nature whatsoever to act in that way but my mind is running in circles with "what if?" thoughts like "what if I am capable?" or "what if I feel something toward?" etc. This is when I discovered POCD last Sunday and everything made sense! The intrusive thoughts, the body scanning etc. I felt a sense of relief that I wasn't the only one going through this hell. But relief can only go so far in comparison with an anxious/OCD mind and this has been apparent over the past few days. I have not wanted to go to work, I am afraid to have intimidate moments with my partner even small things like cuddling/holding hands because I think "what if this was with a minor?" and it petrifies me. I feel like a monster.