PDA

View Full Version : New to the Forums

guided
11-04-18, 02:45
Hello all! This is my first time posting in the forums. I have looked around quite a bit at the various forums..but wanted to post here first to a) say hello and b) see if you could point me in the best direction.

I'll keep the much longer version of this story as short as I can.

Have had OCD since I was in 5th grade. Overtime developed IBS. Later developed anxiety symptoms (mainly blushing at nearly everything as well as sweating). The compulsions of OCD have slowly dissipated...but the ruminating thoughts are still very much there. The physical symptoms while being out socially have become pretty debilitating. I am 29 now and haven't been employed for several months.

Here is a list of medication that I have tried..mostly unsuccessfully.

Celexa/Zoloft/Lexapro/Prozac & Remeron/Buspar & Ativan/Propranolol & Klonopin

My current medication is 600mg 3 x a day of neurontin with .5mg of klonopin prn.

The neurontin has done barely anything for the OCD/social anxiety/physical symptoms. It has helped a bit with IBS related symptoms, my appetite, and sleep. Overall it's not doing much for me though on the anxiety related side of things. The klonopin does offer a little bit of relief in social situations..but not for a long period of time. I am seeing my nurse practitioner in a couple days, and she said if the neurontin did not work, then she wanted to try the antipsychotic seroquel (of which I have read mixed reviews).