PDA

View Full Version : Health Anxiety, Suicidal Ideation

HyperAnxiety
15-04-18, 23:09
Hi guys,

This is my first time posting here. Thanks so much for reading.

I'm 23 years old and have suffered with Health Anxiety since the age of about 16. It may be due to the fact that, despite having suffered with symptoms of SVT (supraventricular tachycardia) for as long as I can remember, I wasn't diagnosed until the age of 14, as doctors kind of brushed off what I was experiencing as 'stress.' (Eventually it was caught on an ECG and after an ablation at age 16, everything was fixed :) )

After 7 years of convincing myself I've got a life-threatening illness I'm starting to get exhausted. People around me don't seem to understand: I have recently graduated, am in a long-term relationship and have everything to be happy for - I'm just not. Although I have never considered actually going through with suicide, in my darkest moments I think about how much easier things would be if I killed myself, how I wouldn't have to put up with this anymore. I have tried CBT and antidepressants but nothing seems to work.

Most recently I've convinced myself I have breast cancer because my left breast is much dense and seems to have much more fibrous tissue in than my right. It's probably always been like this, but I recently noticed and I am freaking out. It's got to the point where I am scared to undress/ take a shower because I'm convinced I'll end up prodding and poking and finding something.

I'm at a loss. I don't know if I'm looking for reassurance, solidarity or advice. Any would be nice right now.

Thanks for taking the time
xxx

lior
16-04-18, 00:26
Hey, welcome to NMP.

I don't suffer from health anxiety, but I have suffered with suicidal ideation a lot. I found it HORRIBLE to live through. I am mostly recovered now. I still get the odd suicidal thought, but I know how to manage it now.