PDA

View Full Version : Hello, newbie here looking for support

smileplease
17-04-18, 14:07
Hi everyone,

Hoping I can get some friendly help and advice, or just support here. Feeling quite alone and like not many people understand what I'm going through right now.

To give a bit of background on myself, I've struggled with depression and anxiety on and off for most of my life, even as a child/teenager it has been a problem for me. Over the past 3 years it has been much worse, but have had good parts and bad parts, good parts mostly when taking fluoxetine for 6 months etc and then I got better... and then I ended up coming off the medication and at some point end up back at square one.

Since December I've had a really bad flare up of severe anxiety - panic attacks, breakdowns, generally not coping and struggling with work. I was signed off for two weeks in March, and I went back in after the second week off, as I was starting to feel a bit better and didn't want to get into any issues with work for taking too much time off sick. The doctor also increased my dosage of fluoxetine from 20mg to 40mg. I've also been taking propanolol which has helped the anxiety but feel like I've been relying on this (and alcohol) way too much.