PDA

View Full Version : How to stop this demon inside

Limeslime
24-04-18, 20:52
Argh! How do I stop this demon inside of me (HA) from growing? I’m still fairly new to this. I’ve been obsessive over breast cancer and melanoma for five months now. Just as I made progress with my BC fear, the melanoma fear started. Now, after a very tough and painful (physically!) journey, I’ve finally had TWO good days without obsessing about moles/melanoma. Just as I thought I was doing well, I remembered that my smear test is due, and now my brain wants to obsessively think about the possibility that I may be told I have cervical cancer! (A young mum I know died of this last year).
It’s just so, so hard. When will this HA cut me a break? It’s so hard feeling frightened every single day! I’m 34 with three children. I’m so scared of leaving them without a mum, it’s becoming all consuming.
Any tips to nip this cervical cancer fear in the bud before it grows like the other two fears did?

Fishmanpa
24-04-18, 21:00
Any tips to nip this cervical cancer fear in the bud before it grows like the other two fears did?

Words on a screen are nothing unless acted upon. Professional real life help and meds if needed. You need accountability and follow up. Think of it like a job with assignments. You don't get paid until you complete the assignments.

Positive thoughts

Limeslime
24-04-18, 21:06
Words on a screen are nothing unless acted upon. Professional real life help and meds if needed. You need accountability and follow up. Think of it like a job with assignments. You don't get paid until you complete the assignments.

Positive thoughts

My GP has me on sertraline. That’s it. The mental health services are stretched and I’m not high risk enough for a referral!

Fishmanpa
24-04-18, 21:11
My GP has me on sertraline. That’s it. The mental health services are stretched and I’m not high risk enough for a referral!