PDA

View Full Version : Fear Of Optimism

agingwuss
26-04-18, 09:42
At the moment I'm going through tests to see if some symptoms I have are sinister or, as a nurse I saw said, "something & nothing". [I won't say what it is, for fear of triggering other people's HA.]

I'm trying to keep my anxiety down to a minimum. I must thank this site and some of the 'sticky threads' above which have been an enormous help and I think I'm doing better than I'd feared.

But has anyone else come across what I can only call "fear of optimism". Quite often when I manage to push my fear to the back of my head, to lose myself in something more interesting or to get slightly confident that I will get good news about my health, something sort of 'pings' in the back of my head. It seems to be saying "if you think those happy & optimistic thoughts, you will definitely have a nasty shock when you get your results - and it will serve you right for not worrying! You won't be prepared & you won't be able to deal with it! "

Can anyone else relate to this daftness?

rainbow
26-04-18, 09:52
I can totally relate to what you're feeling. It's like I can't let myself be happy and think I'm ok cos I'll be tempting fate. It's no way to live.

jray23
27-04-18, 05:17
Yeah, in a way I get this not necessarily when I'm on a roll beating health anxiety for awhile (though it sometimes goes hand in hand) but when I've had a stretch of a few weeks forming good habits, making progress towards goals, my mind starts to play games with me and tell me something bad (often a health concern) is about to happen and derail me, and inevitably, nothing bad happens but I do get derailed anyway! :(

Sent from my Moto G (5) Plus using Tapatalk

Emc
27-04-18, 07:08