PDA

View Full Version : HA taking over my life!

OG
03-05-18, 22:34
Hi, I'm fairly new to health anxieties. Apologies for the long post - trying to get the full story in!

I'm now 25 y.o and had been totally care-free over the years, but over the past six months(ish) my anxieties have rocketed.

It began with testicular pain, which lasted a few months, and despite around three visits to GP, was never given an explanation which made my anxieties worse. I had a panic attack for the first time in my life, and went to A&E, which was a scary couple of hours!

The testicular pain was eventually sorted out, but at the end of this worry, I started to have headaches on a daily basis, which have now been going on for around a month and a half (six-weeks ish)

They're not constant and not usually severe, but come and go throughout the day. They can change in location around the head (across the top, back and forehead), and also in nature (sometimes dull pain, sometimes more like ice pick). They aren't enough to wake me up and not particularly worse in the mornings.

More recently, I've also had:
- neck pains / stiffness (which can change from side to side)
- Neck clicks which have become frequent
- Occasional Body twitches / jerks,
- What feels like slight weakness on my left side (what should be my strongest side)
- Tenderness on scalp
- Nausea

I've had an eye test which came back good and GP immediately feels it's symptoms of HA. However, I've not been refereed to get a scan, such as MRI, of any kind and this has put a bit of doubt in my mind. Deep down, I know it's health anxiety. But I can't shake the feeling of what if it's something worse (a brain tumour)

I have periods where I feet very down and one in particular time which put a strain on my relationship with my girlfriend (who has been extremely supportive throughout)

I've been lucky enough to have a fantastic support network in work, who have recently put me in touch with a psychologist.