PDA

View Full Version : I am new to this - also i am worried.

Jpork
22-07-07, 00:53
Hi everyone. I'll get right to it.

I had a staff meeting for work yesterday. It was held a few miles away from work, so i went to a friends house so we could get a taxi together. The taxi was very late, wich meant that we turned up very late to the meeting, there were about 6 of us who were late.

We nocked on the meeting room door, and when it opend i saw that the room was very small, hot and stuffy. Not enough chairs, lots of people stood up. We all filed in, and i stood close to a guy who was already in there. And the rest of the late people filed in behind me and stood there.

As i was listening to my boss drone on about yearly sales, i very suddenly became aware of how uncomfortable i was. I started fidgeting and feeling really hot, my heart started racing. I thought to myself "just ignore it" And continued listening to my boss. Then i started to ask myself just how long this meeting was going to last, and i realised i might not be able to wait that long, as i now felt like my heart was going to explode. I looked to my right - lots of people, to my left - lots of people. A desk infront of me and a wall behind me.

The adrenaline rush i felt afterwards was uncomparable to anything i have experienced before. My heart was thumping like a jack hammer and i felt a tingle come from my toes all the way my body till i felt light headed.

i HAD to get out. I felt like at the time if i had to kill someone to get out of there i would have. I managed to stap over peoples feet and push past people and fumbled with the handle clumsily, evening finding this difficult.

When i got outside the most incredible weight was lifted off me, but i began to have serious worries. I have always been paranoid in large social settings, but i always ignored them. I felt like i was submitting to a voice in my head or something. I genuinly felt like i wasnt right.