PDA

View Full Version : Hands and now foot fall asleep while sleeping

elasticheart83
14-06-18, 01:13
Hi everyone,

This is my first time posting. I’m a 35 year old female in overall good health but have been having extreme health anxiety for the past few months. The main symptom that is causing me to panic is waking up in the night or morning with numb hands that I have to shake and move to get them to wake up. Sometimes it’s one hand, sometimes it’s the other, sometimes it’s both, sometimes it’s just a finger. It’s happened on vacation as well as at home so I doubt it’s my mattress or pillow, and I’m pretty sure it’s not my sleep position either. I’ve also had some tingling and strange sensations in my hands, mostly at night. I had convinced myself it was carpal tunnel syndrome for awhile and was feeling less anxious about it, but for the past couple nights it’s been happening to my left foot! I wake up in the morning and it is half asleep and I have to shake it out until the blood flow and feeling returns. My leg both times was positioned normal/straight when this happened so I don’t think it could be a positional thing.

Now that it’s in my foot too, it’s hard to imagine it’s juat carpal tunnel. I should mention I am taking Zoloft (75mg) and trazodone (50mg) everyday for anxiety. The trazodone I take at night. I’m wondering if the meds could maybe be the cause?? While I did start taking them again recently I had no side effects when taking them in the past. I also have scoliosis which I suppose could be a factor if the issue is musculoskeletal, but again, I’ve never had problems with my scoliosis in the past.