PDA

View Full Version : taking beta blockers with 5 htp?

moose
20-12-04, 18:51
does anyone know if it's ok to take those two together? i have been taking the 5 htp for 3 days now.
i am new to panic attacks and doc gave me a script for Paxil which i do not intend to fill. my problem is a fast heart rate and lightheadness nonstop. can't seem to get my body to calm.

thanks!

nomorepanic
20-12-04, 22:25
Hi and welcome

I am not sure about taking them - may be best to check with doc.

There are other ways, however, without meds that may suit you better.

Nicola

moose
21-12-04, 16:43
nicola,
thank you. i agree, i will be looking into non-med options. this website is great. i had lavender oil on hand so i started using that yesterday. coincidentally my heart did slow down yesterday. i don't feel as lightheaded, dizzy and 'out of it' either.
so i don't think i'll get the beta blocker. it was just driving me mad to wake up and have a pounding racing heart nonstop for 4 days straight. i can't imagine that's too healthy either.
i did call my doctor and she isn't familiar with 5 htp. i called the company who made the 5 htp i was using and they said i should ask my pharmacist.
this community and website are great. so glad i found it!

razocaine_07
22-12-04, 17:10
the light-headedness sounds like should get your blood pressure checked. Im just saying this because if its low, beta blockers might make it worse. I had low blood pressure and took beta-blockers, not a good idea. But if in doubt go to ur doctors

moose
23-12-04, 07:11
that's a good point, razo. my doc did check it last week and went ahead a prescribed it. i go in tomorrow for my blood tests and EKG. i'll ask them then.

razocaine_07
23-12-04, 12:36
well i hope everything turns out ok, good luck

Mel
15-01-05, 13:05