PDA

View Full Version : Questions About Abnormal Blood Test and Reference Ranges

AnxiousRN
21-06-18, 09:55
Hello, I am back after a few months. I've been posting here since 2017 because of left abdominal pain, anal fissure, and hemorrhoids. I've seen a GI doc who told me I have IBS. I've seen my PCP multiple times and a colorectal surgeon who laughed at me because I got too worried about my recurrent fissures and bright red blood on tissue paper after straining because of hard stools. Last year I had my blood taken, the count, the metabolic panel were all normal. My A1C, TSH and LDL were slightly elevated. 2 urinalysis (3mos apart) revealed presence of RBCs 3-4 ( normal is 0-2 ). Ultrasound of kidneys, abdomen, ovaries all normal. A few months passed and finally yesterday I got retested. My CBC were all normal thank God! I was anxious and nearly sure I am anemic but I am not. My TSH, LDL are all within normal limits. I was happy until I saw my Eosinophil count which is 4.3% (ref range 0 - 2.9%) and my Eosinophils Absolute was 0.30 K/mcl ( normal 0.0 - 0.2 ). Total protein was 8.5 not far from the normal range of 6.3 to 8.2. These were all taken at the university medical center where I am currently working.

My question is when I go online, the reference range for Eosinophils is 0 - 6% and Eos Abs is around 0.5? Any doctors on this thread who can help me out? Do my results mean I have something? I've never been sick the last year except for recurring fissures and hemorrhoids and of course abdominal pain. Ive never had colonoscopy or CT Scan. I am worried because google is playing tricks on me again. It says increased eosinophils can be cause my infection, inflammation or cancer and one of them being colorectal cancer and I have symptoms. Could painful fissures and hemorrhoids cause eosinophils to increase? Thanks in advance

Shadowhawk
21-06-18, 14:52