PDA

View Full Version : Interesting article about pain and psychological causes

Anxiousamyj
28-06-18, 03:00
I am a graduate student in psychology. I’m taking a course in assessment now and this was an article my professor suggested we read. I thought it applied to HA quite a bit and I wanted to share.
https://my.clevelandclinic.org/health/articles/8040-chronic-back-pain-psychological-factors

jray23
28-06-18, 04:46
Great article, thanks for sharing. This quote from it seems all too real!

"Pain that the brain thinks is important will be amplified, and those that it thinks are of no consequence will be lessened."

Sent from my Moto G (5) Plus using Tapatalk

MyNameIsTerry
28-06-18, 04:58
Yes, thanks for posting this, it was very informative.

I remember a Mindfulness article that was discussing it's use in painful conditions. In this case it was someone who was suffering pain due to an accident (rock climbing fall, I think) and how using Mindfulness to stay present and not spend time in a negative focus on those symptoms demonstrated a reduction in perceived pain.

The conclusion was how pain can be dialled up or down. Just like it says in hire article.

It's very true. When I have blips I have noticed pains I normally feel are amplified. As the blip ends the pains reduce back to normal levels

I've seen CBT used for more than mental health conditions e.g. cancer symptom management, asthma symptom management, etc. Just like with us they are working on how you perceive your situation and how you feel.

pulisa
28-06-18, 08:35
CBT has a really important part to play with chronic pain management and the mind-body syndrome. I've found a lot of interesting information on the Tension Myositis Syndrome website.

Kramze
28-06-18, 09:36
I am a graduate student in psychology. I’m taking a course in assessment now and this was an article my professor suggested we read. I thought it applied to HA quite a bit and I wanted to share.