PDA

View Full Version : Anxiety about life / feeling very old!

stella55
13-07-18, 14:31
Hello,

I am feeling major anxiety about my life and my future. I am 26 years old, and I realize this is fairly „young“ but I don’t feel that way. Actually, I’ve been feeling „old“ even since my teenage years. I remember being 16 and feeling anxious about finishing school in 2 years, which felt like saying goodbye to my youth. Things got slightly better when I started studying at university, I had something to do and something to focus on: getting my degree. Afterwards it started going downhill again. I constantly feel the pressure to enjoy my life and I feel like I’m „not using my time right“ or „wasting my time“ and in return, I turn into panic mode which leaves me paralyzed and then I’m not able to do anything at all. And the funny thing is, I’m not even sure what „using my time right“ even means. The inspirational quotes that you can find on the internet are a major trigger for me. They say things like „enjoy life“ or „travel more“ or tell stories about how the old and dying people are sorry for their missed opportunities, etc. I know these things are supposed to be motivating, but they have the exact opposite effect on me – I start feeling depressed because I think I’m not doing enough and messing up my life.
I recently stumbled across the term „executive dysfunction“ and I think thats definitely what I have. Sometimes I want to do activities but get stuck playing games or watching documentaries on TV and feel really guilty in the evening.