PDA

View Full Version : Holiday tomorrow and I don’t want to go 😢

Gemsi84
05-08-18, 08:52
Hi all,

I just wanted to post here as so thought it might help. I’ve suffered with anxiety and panic attacks on and off for the last 3 years. I improved and came off medication around a year ago. I’m fine whilst at work and in my routine- I work in a school so now it’s half term my anxiety has been slowly creeping up on me and I’ve got myself in a right state about going on holiday to Tenerife tomorrow. I visited the GP and they prescribed diazepam for the airport/aeroplane but I’m worried about when I get there. Leaving my house currently is hard enough and I feel like I’m leaving my comfort zone and going into the unknown which is really scaring me. I don’t want to let my partner and kids down by being anxious and a mess the whole time. I just wondered if anyone could offer any advice or support or even success stories of going on holiday with severe anxiety please?

Thanks in advance
G x

vicky23
05-08-18, 09:28
Hi,
I can relate; it is hard to leave our comfort zones. When I've been away I've tried to remind myself that in order to experience joy and fun we sometimes have to temporarily go through the discomfort of anxiety. If you feel anxious remind yourself that it will pass and try to enjoy the moments of joy making memories with your family.
Best wishes

MH19611
07-08-18, 13:34