PDA

View Full Version : fear of leukemia ruining my life

vee07
12-08-18, 13:02
This is my first time posting here and I am an 18 year old female.

I had a CBC in November and it came back normal. The doctor said I had allergies and that was it. Now, I have been having a persistent cough and the doctor said it's nothing to worry about. I found 4 bruises on my leg and I don't remember hitting myself. found 2 on my arms only a few weeks ago but they went away. I also have these weird red spots on my skin. I am so scared that I have leukemia. I haven't gone to school in so many days and I cannot focus on anything. This is my first worry when i wake up. I really need someone to tell me if I should visit the doctor again. She is tired of me and doesn't wanna see me for the next 4 weeks. I can't stop crying and I don't know what to do.

heylumos
12-08-18, 13:26
This was me for four years! I was completely convinced that I was going to die of leukemia. I had bruises and fainting spells, which made me even more sure! But it's been another four years since I last worried about it, and you know what? I'm completely healthy! If you've had a CBC and you're doctor isn't worried, you are fine. I know how easy it is to give in to the anxiety, I missed so much school as well! But trust me on this - you are fine. I know it feels certain to you, in your gut, that something is wrong, but a CBC would have revealed it if something was wrong. Your anxiety is lying to you, and it's a massive struggle, but you can beat it. CBT was very useful for me with health anxiety, it might be worth a shot if you haven't tried it yet! Best of luck x

vee07
12-08-18, 13:52
I know this is stupid but the test was done in November and its been so long. I'm scared something bad happend in between. I don't know what to do

lucymarie
12-08-18, 14:06