PDA

View Full Version : my attacks don't seem to be going away despite being on setraline for 5 weeks

Stephanie
15-08-07, 07:02
Although I've suffered with anxiety and panic attacks for 10 years- I'm new to this. Everytime I come off my Antidepressants a few months later I have another attack- so intense that I can't stay still I can't sleep!!! I started having this latest atteck towards the end of term- I'm a teacher you see. I was going on hliday and began to panic that I was going to panic in a foreign country- which naturally meant I did. After spending three weeks in France and Spain in a huge state- taking sleeping pills every night I came home and started to feel better- I even reduced the slepping pills to 1/4 of one a night. Went to see a psychiatrist who said not to worry too much about the sleeping pills- that my need for them would subside with the anxiety (I get paranoid I'm going to become addicted with makes me worse). Unfortunately had a really bad night last night, even though I've been taking sertraline for 4 and a bit weeks. I'm sacred! It should have gone away. Took two slepping pills last night to no effect- Feel like I losing it again. Can't bear the thought of feeling like this when I go back to school.
Please someone reply quickly I need someone to tell me I'm goin to be alright.

Stephanie
15-08-07, 10:10
Please someone reply- I'm feeling scared and desperate

Insomniac
15-08-07, 11:55
Hi Stephanie

I remember that feeling of panic and losing my mind all too well. It does pass!

I am on meds now, and when I started them I felt strange, then adjusted to them, then got panicky again. My doctor very slowly and gradually increased the dose, I'm still on a relatively low dose. But I have found that it works for me now. It was as if my body got used to the dose, and it wasnt working so well... but now I guess I must be on the right level.

I really hope this helps.... Hang in there Stephanie. :hugs: PM me if you like.

Stephanie
15-08-07, 13:10