PDA

View Full Version : After-effects of stress

beauty
15-08-07, 15:15
Hiya, ive recently starting suffering from panic attacks again, i got them about 2 years ago for a few months and managed to overcome it. But now it has started again, and i feel i understand why. My step-mum died suddenly in october last year, I graduated from uni this year which was scary cos theres always a worry that you wont pass, my whole family including me have stopped talking to my dad which has been very hard and i have started a new job which was of course squite stressful. However during all of these trials i felt fine in terms of panic etc but now ieverything is over and i can relax it has started.
Does anyone also find they experience the worst feelings/panic AFTER the stressful events have passed? also can anyone suggest anything to help me calm down?
Thanks xxx

Stephanie
15-08-07, 16:12
I think exactly the same as you, when you are dealing with things you just get on with it, when you have time, then you panic- it happened to me at the end of a very stressful year at school (teaching). I think we have to just ride it out. I'm currently experiencing intense anxiety, I can't sleep at night because of it, but I just keep thinking, just let yourself panic- let it wash over you... it will go eventually. There is always help out there. Do you take antidepressants?

beauty
16-08-07, 09:03
Yeah im begining to think that, like if i just let it happen it will pass, cos thats what happened to me last time i got it, it just kind of passed after a couple of months. The only thing is in the meantime its stopping me from doing things i normally do which is upsetting :weep:

Greeneyed
16-08-07, 09:39
Hi Beauty,

This is always the case with me, I get through the extreme stress then panic happens some time later. If we could change how we handle stress then we could probably stop the onset of panic.