PDA

View Full Version : GAD and new drivers

axolotl
22-09-18, 14:05
Hi all, sorry for a long post, but I was wondering how my fellow GADders handled being a new driver?

I passed my driving test about four weeks ago - which seeing as I'm in my late 30s is a big deal! I always presumed I was going to be crap at driving, learnt ten years ago and gave up after failing three tests, but started again last year and passed my first one this time (which absolutely shocked me!).

Since then I've been a very wary driver, but have pushed myself to take off on my own and try things. At first I was programming detours into the satnav to avoid big roundabouts and tricky junctions, but have tried to avoid doing that over the last week, and have driven some of my least favourite parts of the city.

Sadly last night my confidence was shook a bit because I came onto our drive at the wrong angle and scraped the car on the wall, which has done enough damage to prevent the passenger door opening so will need a call to the insurers. Our house is on a hill, and the drive is a fairly tricky manoeuvre up a narrow slope with a wall on one side and a drop on the other into next door's garden, and my paranoia at overshooting the drop side meant I was a little careless and overcompensated too much wall side. I'm really annoyed - a very quick loss of no-claims! - but trying not to dwell on it and take it to heart - I'm new, it's a tricky drive, and that's what's insurance is for - though I was very hard on myself last night after doing it.