PDA

View Full Version : First post; HA rearing its ugly head at university

planetschmanetpanic
22-09-18, 23:16
This is my first time posting in this forum, though I've been reading it for quite a bit. I'm trying to channel my compulsions to turn to Dr. Google into reading up on health anxiety instead. I'll give a bit of background about my anxiety, then go into my specific worries at the moment. It's a bit long and windy, but I'm hoping somebody can bear with me and give me some reassurance.

I've struggled with anxiety and related issues for as long as I can remember, and I was diagnosed with GAD when I was 12 years old. I'm now 18 and starting my first year at university. In the weeks leading up to leaving for school, I found my panic attacks to be getting more frequent. Then, one day in late August, one hit me hard. I was driving home from a friend's house (I had recently been abroad, so this was my first time in a couple of months driving alone on the highway at night) and I felt like I was suffocating. My heart raced, pins and needles shot through my arms and legs, and my knees felt like jelly. I made it home and the panic subsided a bit when used my usual strategies to calm myself down, but part of it lingered... and lingered... and lingered.

The day I left home, I broke down and went to the doctor because I had worked myself up about heart failure despite everyone's constant reassurances that it was so rare for a healthy (or even unhealthy!) person my age to suffer from heart disease. She told me that my symptoms were so classically anxiety that they were basically archetypal. We switched my medication from Lexapro to Zoloft, and I walked out feeling fairly okay. But the feeling came back. I still worried about not getting enough oxygen, my heart beating too fast, or something in my body going awry.