PDA

View Full Version : Panicking about references for new job

O_O
24-09-18, 14:13
I've recently accepted a new job, after five years at my current company. I'm pleased to be making this change as it is a salary rise and I'll have the oportunity to move to a much larger town and start afresh.

However, last year I ended up being signed off work for about six months for a complicated miscarriage and subsequent anxiety and traumatic stress. My current boss was extremely supportive during this time and helped to ease me back into work. I've been working again for around six months now. My boss understood my reasons for wanting to leave when I handed in my notice last week, although he wanted me to stay.

My new company is just getting references and I am terrified that once they find out about the long term sick leave they will withdraw their offer. It wasn't something I brought up in the interview as I wasn't asked and it didn't seem relevant at the time. Now I wonder whether I should have.

I've never had much sick leave before this incident and no gaps in my employment for the last decade since I started working. I've always been valued by my employers and have done well.

I work for a large company so the reference process is just dealt with by our HR department. I imagine that, if asked, they will simply say I was signed off work for six months last year. I have no idea how my new employer might react to this. I am extremely anxious.

I live and work in the UK, if that makes any difference.

I don't know if anybody can advise.

AMomentofClarity
24-09-18, 17:07
Here in the US, most of the time references will simply confirm your employment and that you left in good standing, because they don’t want to have to deal with potential legal ramifications if they say something that can be disputed or isn’t accurate. But maybe it’s different in the UK.

O_O
24-09-18, 18:23