PDA

View Full Version : Health Anxiety - between a rock and a hard place

ChocolateButton
27-09-18, 14:42
*sighs* I feel like I'm between a rock and a hard place right now. I don't know where to turn, even tried ringing the Samaritans (which is something I've never done before) but I just got a message saying they were busy and to try again later.

I thought after reading all the stuff on here, seeing how people spiral into Health Anxiety, I honestly thought it wouldn't happen to me. But all the medical stuff I'm going through right now just isn't going away - I'm still having tests, they still don't know whether I have cancer or not (it's a biopsy next) and I'm just so terrified and so fed up at the same time.

I feel like this is never ending, like I'm never going to be free of hospital appointments and consultants and waiting for tests then waiting for results of tests then thinking it's almost done and dusted and then finding I need more tests... and so the spiral goes on.

Things I thought I could stop worrying about have come back to the fore because of something I found online, now I'm just stuck in this spiral of "if I don't have an operation how do I really know there's nothing wrong" versus "if I do need the operation how do I know I'll survive it".

I feel so trapped, like my mind is jumping from one worry to another, I can't settle, it's making me ill (I've lost about 6kg through fretting and not eating) and I just don't know what to do.

If somebody could please help me put some perspective on all this I'd really be grateful.

Emls78
27-09-18, 15:28