PDA

View Full Version : Healing tongue

Carys
01-11-18, 13:24
Here's a thought that occurred to me this morning. Many/most on the HA view their body as being something that is constantly under threat from bacteria, germs, viruses, genetics, and assorted other factors. It is as if they have a body that is about to fail at any moment, for which they need to be on the permanent alert as if their body is a weak and (non evolved!) system that needs constant vigilance and hyper awareness to keep working.

So, last night I bit my tongue, quite badly as it happens. As you do, looked in the mirror now and again and waited for it to stop bleeding, but I was convinced that by the morning it would be swollen and have that cut I made still gaping open. This morning, its as if it never happened, and I remember this from before - the human tongue is really everso good at repairing itself, astoundingly so and very quickly. If I was a biologist I would know the reason :winks:

It got me thinking, about the strength and resiliance of the human body, how it has adapted over millenia and how on a daily basis it (usually) heals itself and deals totally effectively with bacteria and the like. Ok, so we can't grow new legs for ourselves, but I know that HA makes people can't actually focus on the fact that aching muscles, colds, cuts and bruises (for example) all sort themselves out thanks to the efficient human body.

Possibly some here will find this hard to relate to; but if more reenforcement is given to the strength, power and abilities of the human body, then some might feel less need to battle. Your body is 'on your side' not permanently 'against' you. I know there will be some who have genuine illnesses or disabilities, and but I think even then the positive power of the human mind to 'expect you will be ok' is very relevant.