PDA

View Full Version : Dating and awkwardness

.Poppy.
08-11-18, 17:26
So, I'm 27. I don't have much in the way of dating/romantic experience because I had really low self esteem when I was an undergrad (due to acne and scars) and by the time I rebounded from that I had developed really low self esteem due to being inexperienced. I struggle with dating/making out/other romantic stuff because I feel like by now I should be a pro and I always feel like I'm doing something "wrong."

Anyway, with everyone I know basically paired up I decided to give the good ol' dating apps a try. I've had a couple of awkward dates and now have been messaging a couple of people. I have one guy who wants to Facetime with me tonight since he lives a couple of hours away. My gut is telling me to do it but my anxiety gut is like, uh, no. I'm debating having a bit of wine beforehand so that maybe I'll be a bit more composed.

I always hoped I'd meet someone through my friends so that I could get to know them a bit no-pressure. Does this ever get easier?

mark84
08-11-18, 18:04
I hear you about social anxiety and the scars too! I don't have a whole lot of experience, and I think if someone was very experienced it'd frighten me off- I'm not that sort i guess.
I tell you what though, you're so brave doing what you have with the apps. I say if you want a drop of wine have it, or keep it by the side of you, maybe even joke to him that it's because you're so nervous! He might find it charming or he might even be doing the same!
With facetime it's not like a date where you're sat down, trapped, I'd say if it's not going well, like if you're not keen after whtever you consider if long enough to make a fair judgment, or if the anxiety takes hold you can always take a moment (like saying i need to answer the door brb) or just say something like you'll be on your way now anyway as you need to do xyz before morning and it's done. You're sat in your own home, it's your choice.