PDA

View Full Version : To anyone who's undergoing ALS fear

feralgreen
22-11-18, 16:44
Hello all,

long time lurker, first time poster here. I have been battling health anxiety for about 5 years, ever since my father died from stomach cancer. This forum has helped me immensely whenever I had been going through various bouts of HA. I, as well as many members of the forum, over the course of 5 years, have diagnosed myself with multiple deadly illnesses, have visited many doctors, spend a shitload of money on various exams and last but not least have almost broken my own marriage. This whole thing eventually landed me on CBT and with occasional small relapses and after a kiloton of Xanax - I am almost recovered.

I often see people posting about ALS and I would just like to share my insights as it has been my deepest rabbit hole through the period - to the point where I was so sure that I have the disease that I have spent my days choosing my future wheelchair or researching eyegaze technology for the assisted speech. As I plunged deeper and deeper into the illness and after numerous visits to neurologists I have gathered a wealth of knowledge that I would like to share with anyone who's been suffering from the same fears. My first symptom that pointed me towards ALS was widespread body-twitching (dduuuuhhh...), later came perceived weakness, muscle cramps, perceived difficulty of speech and trouble swallowing. Shit, when I think about it - I have had every single symptom of all forms of ALS known to man-kind.

1. Sticky at the top of the page about ALS gives the best explanation of the real and perceived symptoms.

2. As anyone who suffers from ALS HA already knows - ALS is extremely rare. I come from a small country, our capital has 800,000 residents. The leading neuro from the biggest hospital has told me that they diagnose two cases of ALS in the whole city a year. TWO CASES.