PDA

View Full Version : Good News!

Fishmanpa
13-12-18, 16:27
Hey folks,

I eluded to a life situation concerning employment in a couple of replies. Long story short, I've been unemployed since October. There were a couple of factors involved but the bottom line is that I was the victim of verbal abuse by the owners daughter for several years. It's a small family business and blood is thicker than the $$ I brought in. I put up with it for years and had many documented conversations with the owner about it. It wasn't taken care of and I finally had enough, took out my phone and recorded it. She had a meltdown and even got physical trying to take my phone away. Needless to say I covered my ass. Rather than face the legal challenges that presented, I was offered a generous exit agreement.

As you can imagine, at 59, age discrimination was a frequent issue I encountered in my job search. I've been in the music industry my entire career. I've been a full time musician and have spent the last 20 years in the music manufacturing industry. One of my customers was Furnace Record Pressing. If you follow music, you know that vinyl is making a big comeback. Furnace is blowing up and has produced many of the vinyl pieces you see on the shelves today, not only for indie musicians and bands but for many major labels. The facility is freaking amazing and the culture is even better!

Anyway, I interviewed with them twice in the last week and I received and accepted a very generous offer today. Due to my experience and the fact they're growing faster than they can keep up with, the opportunities for advancement both in position and monetarily are huge! It's in Alexandria, VA (Near DC) and will be a heck of a commute (65 miles each way) for a few months until we're able to re-locate but it's going to be worth it.