PDA

View Full Version : I want it to stop

dancerja77
31-12-18, 17:09
I am deeply afraid of getting any sort of stomach bug. When a few of my family members started getting it, (aunts, uncles) I avoided hugging them at Christmas. My sister came home Friday night and got sick, was fine the next day, and then that night got sick again. I haven’t really been around her or hugged her at all. But I’m still freaking out. By now maybe I’m fine? But I think this is all anxiety. I started having chills and shivering, my hands have been sweating since I found out, and I just feel panicked overall. I’m trying to relax but it’s like I keep waiting for my stomach to hurt, my body doesn’t feel hungry because I’m so worried. How can I stop worrying about this? Can your body really make you feel sick from anxiety? My stomach doesn’t hurt..

RadioGaGa
31-12-18, 17:14
Yes absolutely your body can feel sick from anxiety.

As I work in a hospital, I have had the 'winter bug' a few times, and when it hits you, it hits you like a ton of sh*t (pun intended). It's not really a "hmmmm am I coming down with something?" moment.

But, to be honest, despite our best efforts, we sometimes can't avoid getting these things.

My advice for you is really just:
* Practice good hand hygiene (incorporate the 7 step technique!)
* Get all affected family members to do the same
* Use bleach on toilet surfaces after its been used by a person with symptoms
* Common sense approach - don't share cutlery etc with infected persons

Aside from that, there's not really much more you can do.

Good luck

textsfromthemoon
01-01-19, 08:13