PDA

View Full Version : Pain in finger joint and same old routine

ErinKC
11-01-19, 14:47
Does anyone feel your anxiety is cyclical? I feel like I go through this constant cycle - calm, slow build, heightened stress, trigger, spiral, break, calm. It seems like if I am aware of this I should be able to break it, but I can't!

I've let myself get overwhelmed with work (I do freelance work from home and take care of my 4.5 year old), which always ends up leading to an anxiety spike. I've been doing great for a few months, seeing my therapist regularly (thankfully I have an appointment on Monday), but two weeks ago I had a week long sore throat that brought me to the doctor. It went away on its own a few days later, but that started the spiral cycle (anytime I go to the doctor for something it does). I thought I was pushing through it, but then last night out of nowhere the top joint of my middle finger started hurting, right above a small cut I have there, so instantly my mind goes to some infection spreading from the cut I have.

It hurts to press on and move the joint, so every time I do anything with my hand I notice it. I woke up this morning and it was still there and that's when the beginning of the breaking point came and I started to cry. All the stress from my work, etc... plus this poured over me. Then, I asked my husband to stay home so I could go to the urgent care, where of course, they said just watch and wait and come back if it gets worse, or you get a fever, etc...

The chances are I jammed it on something and don't remember. I presume that a non-anxious person would just go about their lives and wait for it to get better. Something small like this doesn't usually trigger me, but since my stress level is already high it was just enough.

Blarg.

ErinKC
11-01-19, 22:56