PDA

View Full Version : Newbie here!

Dave
14-01-05, 00:41
Just want to say hello to you all, I've already spoke to some people in the chat room.

Basically I have been suffering from panic attacks for about 18 months, it began when I started having headaches and dizziness for no apparent reason. I had tests done which came back normal but I still continued to worry. Whenever I notice changes in my body I can't help but look up symptoms on the net which brings up all kinds of worrying diagnoses. Recently I've had problems with my throat which is making my anxiety and breathing feel worse than ever. I'm sure this site will help me though :)

Karen
14-01-05, 04:55
Hi Dave

Welcome to the site. It is good that you have had tests to rule out a medical cause for your symptoms. Are you getting any help from your doctor for the anxiety and panic?

It can be counter-productive to go looking up symptoms on the internet because if you look hard enough you will come up with some illness to fit your symptoms, even though this is highly unlikely to be the cause in most cases, especially when you have been checked by your doctor.

You will find a lot of help and support here.

Karen

It is not easy to find happiness in ourselves, and it is not possible to find it elsewhere.

jill
14-01-05, 08:27
Hi Dave

Welcome to the site,

**I had test done which came back normal but I still continued to worry**
I know what you mean I was the same.
Since finding this site I am now alot better, some days I'm 100% better.
With alot of hard work support and time you to CAN learn how to feel
better.
Remember Dave you are not alone and there is light at the end of the tunnel.

TAKE CARE

JILLXXX

Great cahnges may not happen right away,
but with effort the difficult may become easy.

Meg
14-01-05, 16:46
Hi Dave ,

How are the headaches and dizziness now ?

What up with your throat - apart from perhaps feeling tight, difficult to swallow and having a lump in it ?