PDA

View Full Version : introduction

kes
09-09-07, 19:03
Hi All, I am very new to threads and chat rooms so please excuse me. I have suffered post natal anxiety and depression following the birth of both my children now age 3 and 6. Since the birth of my last son 5 months ago I had a very traumatic birth and heamorraghed badly. My anxiety and panic attacks are at an all time high. I have a good psychiatrist however I struggle with meds as i am afraid of side effects and them harming me (more panic attacks) :weep: .

I have tried citalopram with side effects and was discontinued from them. I am now on mirtazipine 30mgs that worked beautifully for 3 weeks. Now 8 weeks on , the panic attacks and irrational fear has returned and I feel so low again. I am also recieving cbt with some benefit.

I am so scared that I am a difficult to treat patient. I do not want to be like this for ever as my feelings are so frightening. Can anyone suggest where I go from here. Thanks in anticipation.

belle
09-09-07, 19:25
Hi and welcome.

I can assure you that you're not a "difficult" patient. Everyone's illness has to be treated to what their needs are.

I'm sure you will receive all the advice and support you want :)

x

kes
09-09-07, 20:59
thanks. I just wonder how sufferers like myself get some reliefe from anxiety and panic attacks especialy when i worry about me and the kids so much. x :weep:

Panic1971
09-09-07, 21:29
Hi Kes

I am looking for that answer too. I am a mother to 2 girls and I find it so hard.

You will find some great support on this site though.

Take care x

manmoor
10-09-07, 00:21
Hi Kes,

A big warm welcome to you. xx

kes
10-09-07, 09:41
Ann thank u for your reply. How do u manage with panic and anxiety with children, my little boy has demonstrated some degree of anxiety. x

Best Wishes

Kerri

ladygrom
10-09-07, 09:49